Prev Thread Prev Thread   Next Thread Next Thread
 Prednisone to treat Insulinoma led to Diabetes
BinderGang

• Total Posts : 14
  • Reward points : 0
Prednisone to treat Insulinoma led to Diabetes - Friday, September 04, 2009 2:44 PM
Hi all,

This is my first time posting on any Ferret forum. I felt I needed to hear if this has happened to anyone else and what did you do.

First off, I found a great Ferret vet in Long Island. The beggining of the month, my ferret went into one of those low-blood sugar shocks, drooling, mouth open and I rushed him in to the vet. He was diagnosed with Insulinoma and given Lupron shots and I was to give him Prednisone twice a day. We arrived home and that day he was back to normal. Everything was great.

Fast forward about 3 weeks and I notice he's losing a bit of weight, not eating as much and acting weak. So this past Tuesday I took him back to the vet.

The treatment for the Insulinoma brought his blood sugar up back to normal...and than way past it. He no longer had low blood sugar, but very high blood sugar. He has become diabetic. He lost a good deal of weight. The tumors, however, did shrink due to the Insulinoma.

The vet suggested not to give up yet and we're weening him off the Prednisone (1/4 of what he had previously per day, every other day) and feeding him a high protein diet. This, hopefully, is supposed to bring everything back down to normal.

He's eating now (not yet on his own, but licks it up while we feed him), but he's still very weak. I'm nervous because I'm in the same mind frame where after that first vet visit he was back in action that afternoon, where as this time around it's 3 days later and not too much has changed.

I've searched online and the only thing I could find is how diabetes is a 'rare' side effect in ferrets being treated for Insulinoma. Not many people talking about an actual happening. I would love to hear from any of you if you have experience. Thanks!
Snapper13

• Total Posts : 10189